Announcing an Adobe AIR publish application.

October 19, 2009 at 10:59 am 7 comments

I started working on this application in 2007.  It was to be my entry for the AIR developers derby.  However, I ran into limitations with text capabilities in Flash player 9.  Then, Buzzword was announced.  A well-funded and well-hyped competitor, supported by Adobe.  So I abandoned this project for a couple of years.

Now, with Adobe’s Text Layout Framework, and forthcoming “Squiggly” spell-checker – it seemed like a good time to finish what I started.

I’m still finishing things off for the first Beta version.  (and I’m also busy with paid work).  But I’ve prepared a video tour of the application so you’ll know what to expect.

The original vision for this project was to create an online service where users could collaborate to create slick-looking online magazines.  Right now, e2publish is just a client application.  But document sharing and collaboration are on the roadmap.

The most powerful features of e2publish are the page layout capabilities, and the way in which text wraps around pictures – even when pictures are between columns.

text wrap

Entry filed under: Adobe AIR, e2publish, Pure ActionScript.

The old goat bites back Adobe’s restrictive font licensing rules

7 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Cristian Pascu  |  October 19, 2009 at 11:21 am

    This is absolutely awesome!
    I can’t really tell from this website what will be the nature of this project? Are you gonna make it a commercial product?

    This is extremely interesting. Nowadays, as far as my knowledge goes, there is no good Flex rich text editor out there.

    Cristian

    Reply
  • 2. e2easy  |  October 19, 2009 at 12:07 pm

    I’m aiming for a commercial product/service. But there will be free beta versions before that happens.

    It may take a while. There is no funding behind this project. I work on it in my spare time.

    It’s not really a “Flex” rich text editor. It’s hand-crafted, light and powerful, Pure ActionScript.

    Reply
  • 3. joahns  |  October 22, 2009 at 4:42 am

    Nice. Certainly interested to see how it progresses.

    Reply
  • […] Posts Advanced SimplicityAn introduction to e2vectorAnnouncing an Adobe AIR publish application.Google O/S – Why not […]

    Reply
  • […] 5, 2009 Along with the new e2publish (online publishing AIR application), I’ll also be releasing updates to e2spreadsheet and e2vector […]

    Reply
  • 6. Pete  |  December 27, 2009 at 7:05 pm

    After having just used this, a one word description would have to be “Sexy” . I think this application has enormous potential. Looking forward to more betas.

    Reply
  • 7. Loser Markus  |  February 1, 2010 at 11:52 am

    I am not big ptogramer bat I am familiar with HTML fundamentals
    and it is exiting

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


  RSS feed          View Daniel Freeman's LinkedIn profileView my profile

Add to Technorati Favorites

October 2009
M T W T F S S
« Jul   Nov »
 1234
567891011
12131415161718
19202122232425
262728293031  

