Google O/S – Why not Adobe?

July 8, 2009 at 7:59 am 2 comments

In the pre-history days before Central or Flex, I wrote a Flash-based operating system.  (I’ll try and dig-up pictures one day).  I called it “CoreOS”. It was a fully functional windows interface with REAL applications.  A spreadsheet, drawing apps, a word-processor, a game and some fun stuff.  It even had a console application and its own small command-line language.  It ran inside a browser window which adjusted itself to fill the screen – but what I really wanted was to break out of the browser.  What I did was just a demonstrator to hint at the potential.

I never took CoreOS any further, but the applications have evolved.  The spreadsheetdrawing application, and e2publish (probably the most sophisticated Flash-based word-processor never published).

Around 2001/2002 – I thought it was inevitable that we’d see a REAL Flash-based operating system really soon.  All the pieces seemed to be forming.  When Macromedia Central was released, I considered it to be a step in the right direction, and vindication that my ideas were right all along.  I thought AIR could be lead to a truly ubiquitous “internet O/S” for desktop, devices, hand-held, embedded, etc…

But it never happened – after all the years I’ve wasted on going-nowhere Macromedia/Adobe technologies.

Finally, years later, Google have made the leap.

So, why didn’t Adobe get there years ago?  Too timid?  I suspect they don’t see it as their business.  Adobe = eye-candy.  They’re not that committed to software (Real programmers don’t use Flex – at least, not for their own projects).  And you only need to look at the proposals that got Open-Screen funding to realise that Adobe is only interested in style – not substance.  Ground-breaking new algorithms, new classes of applications, speculative new ventures – I don’t think any of these things reflect the way Adobe see themselves.

Entry filed under: Adobe AIR.

Gumbo. Substance behind the hype? The old goat bites back

2 Comments Add your own

  • 1. proyb2  |  July 8, 2009 at 2:44 pm

    You need a strong marketing to advertise your products, without that, nothing works.

    Reply
  • 2. apphackers  |  July 8, 2009 at 4:20 pm

    The future isn’t in Flash or Flex, it’s JavaScript. In a way Adobe AIR is it’s own platform, an OS on top of an OS. I hope they stick with it. I really like making stuff with JavaScript for the desktop.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


  RSS feed          View Daniel Freeman's LinkedIn profileView my profile

Add to Technorati Favorites

July 2009
M T W T F S S
« Jun   Oct »
 12345
6789101112
13141516171819
20212223242526
2728293031  

