Archive for February 21, 2010

Wrapping text around a giraffe

It’s 2:00am Monday morning.  I’ve just spent all weekend obsessively wrapping text around giraffes.

If you’ve been following my blog, you may remember that a few weeks ago I was blown away by Apple’s presentation of the new iPad.  Particularly iWork and “Pages”.  Having watched a demonstration of text wrapping around a picture of a giraffe – I only wished that I had time to implement this kind of text wrapping in my e2publish AIR application.

Then another developer left a comment on this blog, that he and his team had done this in an application they’d made.

Not wishing to be outdone – I locked myself away this weekend, deprived myself of some sleep, and implemented a much more powerful text wrapping algorithm for e2publish.

It’s more computationally intensive than the previous way I did things.  It takes longer to refresh a page.  But the old (fast but less versatile) scheme comes into play when it can.

You won’t be able to play around with the fruits of my weekend labours yet.  I have other significant enhancements to make to e2publish before I release a new version with the ability to wrap text around giraffes (or other oddly-shaped pictures).  But you can still download the current version here.

February 21, 2010 at 4:02 pm 3 comments


  RSS feed          View Daniel Freeman's LinkedIn profileView my profile

Add to Technorati Favorites

February 2010
M T W T F S S
« Jan   Mar »
1234567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.